Choosing Software

Which salon software has built-in memberships?

Fresha, Vagaro and Mangomint include memberships on every plan; Phorest on Elite and medspa tiers. Compare salon software with memberships on fees.

Which platforms have memberships built in, and on which plan

Most salon software with memberships can take a recurring payment. Fewer platforms track what that payment entitles the client to, and that gap is where a shortlist thins out fast.

Built in should mean three things working together: the software bills the client on a schedule, it knows what the plan includes, and it counts what has been used. Recurring billing on its own is the easy part. Counting the four facials a month, resetting the counter when the next payment lands, and applying the member price at checkout without anyone remembering to do it is the part that either exists or does not.

PlatformMemberships built in?Which planExtra cost for memberships
Bella BookingYes, with per-cycle session counters and member pricingProfessional, $99 a month, unlimited team members (the same figure in US and Australian dollars)No feature charge. Bella's standard 1% platform fee applies to membership billing like any other payment
FreshaYesThe core plan, solo and teamNo membership add-on. The subscription is per bookable team member, plus a 20% one-time commission on new clients from the marketplace
Square AppointmentsNo. Square Subscriptions bills a recurring item, but the help centre says subscriptions do not support an entitlement featureNot applicableNot applicable
VagaroYesThe base subscriptionNo membership add-on. Priced per bookable calendar, so it scales with team schedules
MangomintYesThe single plan, US$120 a month plus US$10 per userNone. Memberships is not one of the priced add-ons (Phone, Marketing and Payroll are)
BoulevardYesNot published on any of the three pages readNot listed among the priced add-ons
GlossGeniusContradictory on its own site: listed on the pricing page, still marked coming soon on the memberships pageListed from Standard, US$24 a month billed annuallyNone listed
PhorestYes, on three of six US plansIncluded on Elite, Core Aesthetics and Elevate Aesthetics. Optional on Starter, Grow and Complete Advantage via the "add to any plan" blockAdd-on price not published. Phorest publishes no plan prices at all

Every competitor row was read from that vendor's own pricing or feature page on 2 September 2026, and the Bella Booking rows from the code that runs the feature. "Not published" means the vendor has not said, which is different from a no. Two of these sites also serve prices by location: fresha.com and vagaro.com both returned Australian dollars when we opened them, so this page uses their pricing structure rather than a figure that would be wrong in half the world. The US dollar figures come from the US pages of Square, Mangomint, Boulevard and GlossGenius.

The second question is what a plan can actually hold, because "memberships" covers two different products. One is a discount card that recurs. The other is a plan with included work in it, which is the one that needs counting. Where the client buys it matters just as much, and the next section counts that too.

PlatformWhat a plan can includeWhere clients buy it
Bella BookingPercentage or fixed-amount discounts, included sessions with a per-cycle counter, unlimited access, member pricing on named services or bundles, and included or discounted retailYour booking page, or the front desk
FreshaServices bundled into a course or membership, paid in advance and redeemed later, on either a one-time or a recurring paymentNot stated on the pages read
Square AppointmentsA recurring charge for an item. No entitlement tracking, no custom billing dates, and the price cannot be changed once the plan is createdBuilt in the Square Dashboard
VagaroAny combination of services, classes or products, with the saving set per visit, by percentage or as a fixed amount, plus perks and reward pointsThe Vagaro booking page, its mobile app, or your own website
MangomintA recurring charge that lands on the client's account balance, services redeemed each billing period, and member-only discounts applied automatically at checkoutYour website and online booking
BoulevardMonthly or annual auto-renewing memberships, and custom service packagesWhile the client self-books online, or at in-person checkout
GlossGeniusPackages with automated billing. The memberships half was still marked coming soonNot stated on the pages read
PhorestService-based or credit-based plans with flexible billing cycles and terms, run inside Phorest with no third-party toolNot stated on the pages read

Square is the honest outlier and worth reading carefully if you are already on it. Square Appointments plans are Free, Plus at US$49 a month per location and Premium at US$149 a month per location, and neither the Appointments pricing page nor its FAQ lists memberships or client subscriptions at all. Square Subscriptions exists, it is free to build from the Dashboard, and it will take the money every month. Square's own help article then says the feature will not track entitlements, using a gym selling five classes a month as the example: the subscription bills, and nothing counts how many classes the subscriber has actually taken. You can sell the plan. Someone on your team counts the visits.

GlossGenius needs the same care for a different reason. Its pricing page lists Packages and Memberships from the Standard plan up, tagged as new, with Standard at US$24 a month billed annually. Its own memberships product pages still said coming soon on 2 September 2026, twice on one page and again on another. Packages with automated billing look like the shipped half. Ask them directly which half you are buying before you sign anything.

Phorest is the clearest case of memberships costing extra. Its six plans run Starter, Grow, Complete Advantage and Elite for salons and spas, plus Core Aesthetics and Elevate Aesthetics for medspas, and none of them publish a price. On Phorest's US pricing page, memberships is included on Elite and on both medspa plans, Core Aesthetics and Elevate Aesthetics. On Starter, Grow and Complete Advantage it is marked Optional and sold from the add-to-any-plan block at a price that is also unpublished. The Australian page uses different plan names (Grow, Complete Advantage and Complete Advantage Plus, plus two Aesthetics Advantage tiers) and includes memberships only on the two Plus tiers. Selling courses and series is included on five of the six US plans (everything except Starter), so the prepaid half of the concept is close to universal at Phorest and the recurring half is not.

What to check in salon software with memberships

Six questions separate a membership feature that runs itself from one that quietly becomes somebody's spreadsheet. Three of them, the cancellation question, the cash question and the members-only question, went unanswered on every vendor page read on 2 September 2026.

Does it count the included visits

A plan that includes four facials a month needs a counter that decrements at checkout and refills when the next payment clears. Without one, the front desk is tracking allowances by memory or by note, and the argument about whether a client has had three or four arrives within a fortnight. Square is explicit that its subscriptions do not do this. Ask every other vendor to show you a client who has used two of four, on a live account.

What happens when the client cancels

A member books, the appointment eats an included session, then they cancel. Does the credit come back? Does it come back if the cancellation lands after the billing period rolled over, when the counter has already reset? None of the vendor pages read for this page said either way. It is a fair question on a demo call, and the answer tells you whether refunds and reschedules will be a manual clean-up job.

Can a member pay in cash

Plenty of long-standing clients will happily commit to a monthly plan and still want to hand over cash or do a bank transfer. If the software only understands a saved card, those clients either get a card on file or stay off the plan. Ask whether a member can be on the same renewal schedule with the software still driving the dates and the invoices while the money arrives at the till.

Do members-only services have to be advertised

Some businesses want a members-only treatment sitting on the booking page with a lock on it, because it sells the plan. Others want it invisible to anyone who is not a member, because a service nobody can book is just a source of enquiries you have to decline. Both are reasonable, and most platforms only do one of them. Work out which you want before the demo.

Which plan it sits on, and what the payments cut is

The headline plan price is rarely the real cost of getting memberships. Phorest puts it on Elite or sells it as an add-on. Fresha bills per bookable team member and takes 20% on a new client from its marketplace. Vagaro charges per bookable calendar. Mangomint charges US$10 a user on top of a US$120 base. Add the processing rate on every recurring charge, then compare the annual number rather than the sticker.

Can clients buy and manage it without you

A membership clients cannot buy at 10pm is a membership your team sells one conversation at a time. Check that plans appear on the booking page, that a client can join without phoning, and that they can see what is left, update a card and cancel on their own. Self-service cancellation feels like a risk until you count the hours currently spent handling cancellation requests by message.

How memberships work in Bella Booking

Memberships sit on the Professional plan at $99 a month with unlimited team members, and the same number applies in US and Australian dollars. There is no membership add-on and no per-member charge. Bella's standard 1% platform fee rides on membership billing the way it does on any other payment taken through Bella, which is the honest version of "no extra cost". Memberships run on Stripe, so a business taking payments through Square in Bella cannot use them yet.

A plan carries one or more benefits, and each benefit covers either services and bundles or retail products, never both. That keeps every allowance a clean pool: four included facials cannot quietly become four bottles of shampoo. A benefit can be a percentage off, a fixed amount off, a set number of included sessions per cycle, unlimited access, an included product, or a discount that also waives the deposit the service would normally ask for. When two benefits could apply to the same line, the one that names the service wins over a general all-services benefit, even at a lower discount.

  1. 1Build the plan with a price, a billing cycle and its benefits, then choose whether clients can buy it on your booking page
  2. 2Cap it with a maximum number of members if the plan only works at a certain size, which blocks online self-purchase once it is full and warns the front desk on manual enrolment
  3. 3Make it a fixed-term instalment plan instead if you are selling a course of treatments: 4, 8 or 12 weeks, billed every 4 weeks, with the included allowance granted once for the term rather than refilled each instalment
  4. 4Set each member to card on file or manual collection, so a client paying cash still sits on the renewal schedule and your team marks the invoice paid at the till

Clients buy on your booking page through Stripe Checkout, and My Membership then shows them their status, what is left of each allowance, the next charge date, or the next instalment and end date on a term plan. They can cancel there without messaging you. On your side there are commands for the awkward days: retry a failed payment, update a card, change a plan, pause and resume, undo a cancellation a client has already scheduled.

When a covered appointment is cancelled, refunded, or has the covered line taken off at re-checkout, the session comes back if it was spent inside the current billing window, and the reversal is recorded either way so the history stays honest when it does not. Walk-in retail redemptions and online shop orders each have their own restore path, keyed so one redemption can never hand back two credits.

Members-only services are a separate switch from the plan itself. Flag a service or a bundle as members only and Bella checks coverage again when the booking is submitted, using the same check that paints the badge, so the label and the gate cannot drift apart. Since September 2026 you also choose what everyone else sees: leave it as it is and the service stays on the booking page with a Members only badge and a way through to your plans, or switch on Hide members-only services under Settings > Online booking > Appearance and it disappears from the service list, the search, the landing page and the structured data for anyone the plan does not cover.

Prepaid packages are the sibling concept and they behave differently: bought once, counted down until they run out or expire, with the balance tracked per service variant. Memberships recur and refill. Most businesses end up running both. "What are prepaid packages in salon software?" covers that side, and it is linked below.

Memberships are a Professional-plan feature and need a connected Stripe account. On Solo or Starter the option is not there, and the runtime check rejects a purchase on a plan without it rather than half-completing one. Work out the total monthly cost of the plan you actually need before comparing it with anything on this page.

Questions worth asking a vendor

Take these to the demo. Every one of them can be answered live on a real account, and the ones that get a "let me check" are the ones to write down.

  • Show me a member who has used two of four included sessions, and show me the counter resetting on renewal
  • A member cancels an appointment that used an included session. What happens to the credit, and does that change after the billing date?
  • Can a member pay by cash or bank transfer and still be on your renewal schedule?
  • Can a client buy the plan online at 10pm, and cancel it themselves without contacting us?
  • Can I restrict a service to members, and can I hide it from everyone else rather than just locking it?
  • Which plan is memberships on, what does the add-on cost, and what is the processing rate on a recurring charge?
  • Can I cap how many people are on one plan, and what happens to existing members if I lower the cap?

One more before you commit. Ask what a price change does to people who are already on the plan. Putting a plan up from $89 to $99 should leave your existing members on $89 until you decide otherwise, and a platform that re-prices everybody the moment you edit the plan will cost you the exact clients the membership was meant to keep.

Ready to try Bella Booking?

Start your free trial today. No credit card required.

Australian-owned business. Sydney-based team, with responsive support across multiple timezones.